Publication of “Re-imagining post-apartheid Yeoville Bellevue

Cover0001

After 18 months of hard work interspersed with other hard work, I finished writing a report on my 15 years of working in Yeoville Bellevue on neighbourhood development. Readers of this blog will know that I am not yet a regular blogger – and this is linked to my not giving enough time to the writing of material for the blog. My report suffered the same fate – it was originally supposed to be completed in three months, but I was just not able to devote all my attention to it.
I am not sorry, though. The extra time gave me more time to reflect on the topic and on the detail and nuances of my years of working in Yeoville Bellevue. I was able to consult with more people and read more source material. There were many things that happened in the extended writing period which also added value.
So there is now a printed document, thanks to the South African Research Chair in Development Planning and Modelling, School of Architecture and Planning, University of the Witwatersrand, in particular Prof Phil Harrison, who commissioned me to write the report and who supported me through the process of getting it done.
It’s a very readable piece of work, not intimidatingly academic at all, and I hope those who go through it enjoy the journey. I enjoyed writing it.
You can download it for free in a PDF version identical to the printed one. Go to: http://bit.ly/yeovillesmithers.
You can also visit the website of the Wits Urban Transformation Research Project and see the other publications in the series (http://www.wits.ac.za/academic/ebe/archplan/sarchi/resources/14468/urban_transformation_research_project_utrp.html).
If you do read the report, please let me know what you thought of it. Feedback is very important.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

