A scream in the night

At around 11pm on Sunday night, as I sat working, I heard a scream – a clearly terrified woman’s scream – coming from somewhere nearby. I ran to the front door and pulled it open to try and determine the source of the scream. I could hear nothing. As I stood listening, my partner, Theresa, came through from the bedroom to ask if I had heard the screams.
I went to the back of the house, into the garden, to see if the screaming came from somewhere behind our property. Still nothing.
I waited awhile, willing the woman to start screaming again so that I could pinpoint the locality and see if there was something we could do to help.
When all I could hear was the music of Tandoor in Rockey St bouncing off the wall of the cottage behind us, I went back inside.
When people wonder out loud why I do the work I do in Yeoville Bellevue, one of the answers I can give is that I want to help create a neighbourhood where we never have to hear such screams. It’s a tall order, I know, given that we live in a society, in a country, in a world, where such screams happen all the time. But we all have to do what we can to change the situation.
Happy Women’s Day

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

